2015-2016 Waco ISD Children’s Music Festival Orff Ensemble

2015-2016 Waco ISD Children’s Music Festival Orff Ensemble
Posted on 02/12/2016

The voices, rhythm and dance of students representing all 15 elementary music programs brought the Waco High Performing Arts Center stage to life for the 2015-2016 Waco ISD Children’s Music Festival Orff Ensemble. The guest director this year was Lorie Crowder, a longtime music educator who currently serves as president of the Heart of Texas Orff-Schulwerk Association. It was obvious that the students and their music teachers worked very hard to prepare for this wonderful event!

ALogobout Guest Director Lori Crowder

Lori Crowder has been a music educator for 33 years. She taught band in grades six through 12 in Robinson ISD for 22 years, where her bands at middle and high school earned multiple sweepstakes honors. She was an elementary music specialist in Waco lSD, teaching at Brook Avenue Elementary and at Parkdale Elementary schools. While at Parkdale Elementary, Ms. Crowder was honored as a finalist

For Waco ISD’s “Elementary Teacher of the Year” award in 2011-12. She is currently the kindergarten through fourth-grade music teacher at Woodway Elementary School.  Ms. Crowder holds a bachelor of music education in instrumental music and conducting from Baylor University, and has completed all levels of certification in Orff-Schulwerk from Southern Methodist University. She currently serves as president of the Heart of Texas Chapter of the American Orff-Schulwerk Association, and is the handbell director at Seventh and James Baptist Church in Waco. 

What is Orff-Schulwerk?

Releasing creativity that extends far beyond the music classroom, Carl Orff and Gunild Keetman conceived an approach to building musicianship in every learner through the integration of music, movement, speech, and drama. In Orff-Schulwerk classrooms, children begin with what they do instinctively: play! Imitation, experimentation, and personal expression occur naturally as students become confident, life-long musicians and creative problem solvers. The Orff approach to teaching is a model for optimal learning in 21st Century classrooms.

2015-2016 Waco ISD Children’s Music Festival Committee

Cheryl Mcilwain, Chair, Brook Avenue Elementary
Theresa Juris, Co-chair, Parkdale Elementary
Katie Forbis, Provident Heights Elementary
Anna Poe, Kendrick Elementary

Larry Carpenter, Waco ISD Fine Arts Director

Alta Vista Elementary
Jaylon Alley
Samara Esquivel
Esmerelda Hernandez-Ojeda
Bella Silva
Haleigh Porter
Music Specialist – Cynthia Broughton

Bell’s Hill Elementary
Valerie Garcia
Anthony Martinez
Karla Solis
Emily Flores
Music Specialist – Bethany Reese

Brook Avenue Elementary
Tino Montoya
Paris Jones
Noemi Ramirez-Garcia
LeAnn Guevara
Esmerelda Villa
Music Specialist – Cheryl McIllwain

Cedar Ridge Elementary
Ah’Kelah Williams
Andrew Eggers
Hallie Hall
Logan Hill
Nancy Quezada
Lane Hill
Music Specialist – Laura Nolte

Crestview Elementary
Sunshiray Morales
Hector Gonzales
Fernando Guerro
Giselle Fabela
Luis Lopez
Music Specialist – Victor Flores

Dean Highland Elementary
Lizette Sanchez
Alison Hallal
Jayden Smithson
Noey Gayton
Music Specialist – Melissa Loudermilk

Hillcrest PDS
Michael Clark-Martinez
Luke Grant
Anna Pendleton
Vanessa Ramirez
Larissa Rodriguez
Sarah Schlappe
Elanah Sriram
Henry Wood
Music Specialist – Paula Hoover

J.H. Hines Elementary
Candice Edwards
Trinity Smith
Latira Long
Victoria Mason
Maygen Williams
Valerie Trice
Troy Galvan
Music Specialist – Robin Smith

Kendrick Elementary
Suleyca Dominguez
Trinity Martinez
Jose Garcia
Eliana Garcia
Music Specialist – Anna Poe

Lake Air Montessori Magnet
Sophia Henderson
Maya Lozano
Cynthia Zavala-Hicks
Aiden Dean
Music Specialists – Kimberlea Emborsky & Noah Alvarado

Mountainview Elementary
Sage Lucius
Kamryn Mendoza
Brandon Watley
William Diaz
Cedrique Rodriguez
Music Specialist – Dawn Melton

Parkdale Elementary
Ana Sandoval
Kaitlyn Gober
Mariah Fajardo
Seth Allen
Sophia Ramos
Music Specialist – Teresa Jurls

Provident Heights Elementary
Amaya Rivera
Sebastian Arranaga
Ashley Salas Sanchez
Adrian Smith
Luis Garcia, Jr.
Music Specialist – Katie Forbis

South Waco Elementary
Henry Ashton
Music Specialist – Jonathan Valerio