Outstanding Teachers of 2016-2017


WACO, Texas – Twenty-four educators were honored Thursday night as 2016-2017 Outstanding Teachers of the Year on their respective Waco ISD campuses.  

The classroom leaders were selected by their principals to receive their awards, which included a $250 check for each of them from the Paul and Jane Meyer Family Foundation.  

“These men and women are being honored tonight because of their special calling to educate and shape tomorrow’s leaders,” said Superintendent Dr. Bonny Cain. “They know a good teacher not only tells and explains, they inspire their students, ignite their imagination, and instill a love of learning.”  

The award winning teachers, who collectively have 265 years of experience in the classroom, were selected based on a number of factors including their professionalism representing their campus and a passion to be an excellent educator.  Principals also consistently saw a mutual respect between the teachers and their co-workers, and obvious growth in knowledge and self-confidence of their students.  

Guest speakers at the event at University High Schools Performing Arts Center were Dr. Michael McLendon, the Dean of the School of Education at Baylor University, and Texas State Senator Brian Birdwell.  

Two of the teachers honored tonight will be named District Teachers of the Year this Spring, receiving $1,000 checks from Insurors of Texas (elementary schools) and Richard Karr Motors 
(secondary schools).  Central National Bank will also give the Waco ISD Principal of the Year $1,000 for their outstanding work. 

Each of those winners will then be entered in a regional competition for further accolades. 

Waco ISD would like to thank the Baylor University School of Education, McLennan Community College, Pendley Party Productions, Peter Piper Pizza and Sodexo’s Child Nutrition Services for their support of Thursday night’s event.

Outstanding Teachers of 2016-2017
Posted on 12/06/2016

Alta Vista Elementary Nancy Alvarado
Alta Vista Elem.

Bell's Hill ElementaryDeborah DeGraff
Bell's Hill Elem.

Brook Avenue ElementaryAbigail Mata-Castillo
Brook Avenue Elem.

Cedar Ridge ElementaryJenna Cootware
Cedar Ridge Elem.

Crestiview ElementaryMicah Kroll
Crestview Elem.

Dean Highland ElementaryCorrin Mason
Dean Highland Elem.

Hillcrest PDSTamara Holey
Hillcrest PDS

J. H. Hines ElementaryEula Lyn Bacy
J. H. Hines Elem.

Kendrick ElementarySarina Carrizales
Kendrick Elem.

Lake Air Montessori MagnetReecie Cannon
Lake Air Montessori 

Mountainview IB ElementaryAshlee Brewster
Mountainview IB Elem.

Parkdale PDSCathy Henson
Parkdale PDS

Provident Heights ElementaryNelly Perez
Provident Heights Elem.

South Waco ElementaryNichaela A. Taylor
South Waco Elem.

West Avenue ElementaryLumina Howard
West Avenue Elem.

Cesar Chavez Middle SchoolAmanda Terry
Cesar Chavez Middle

G.W. Carver Middle SchoolMelvin Petty
G.W. Carver Middle

Indian Spring Middle SchoolKrystal Collier
Indian Spring Middle

Tennyson Middle SchoolJames Villa
Tennyson Middle / Atlas

Brazos High SchoolKelsey Allison
Brazos High/CRC

University High SchoolKelly Cunningham
University High / AJMA

Waco High SchoolKen Heller
Waco High

G.L. Wiley Opportunity CenterBlake Schrader
Wiley Opportunity Center

GWAMAAmanda Yaden