Cohn named Principal of the Year

Cohn named Principal of the Year
Posted on 04/18/2017

Bevil first hears the news.

Bell’s Hill Principal Bevil Cohn, who is retiring after 33 years leading that campus, was named Waco ISD’s Principal of the Year Tuesday afternoon.

Cohn, who began her career as an educator at the Dripping Springs Kindergarten campus (now GWAMA) IN 1973.

After working her way up from teacher to Principal on that campus, she took over the leadership of Bell’s Hill Elementary in 1984.

She has been at that campus ever since, and some of her students today are the sons and daughters of previous Bell’s Hill students.

Superintendent Dr. Bonny Cain presented Cohn with her award at Tuesday’s District Principal Meeting.

After this school year ends, Cohn looks forward to traveling with her husband and enjoying time with their five grandchildren.


Picture of Waco ISD Principals from 1999.

Three of the 1999 Principals pictured below are still with Waco ISD:  Assistant Superintendent Yolanda Williams (4th from left), Bevil Cohn (4th from right), and Julie Sapaugh, J.H.Hines Principal (far right). Click to enlarge.

WISD Principals of 1999